Molinari Beats Dunne In OT, Wins Trophée Hassan II

Edoardo Molinari fired a 5-under 68 on Sunday, and beat Irishman Paul Dunne in a playoff to capture the Trophée Hassan II.

The 36-year-old Italian made eagle-3 at the 18th to take the outright lead, but Dunne, the 54-hole leader, followed up with a clutch birdie to force a playoff.

After Dunne missed a six-footer for par on the first sudden-death hole, Molinari tapped-in for par-five to claim his third European Tour victory – his first since 2010.

Englishman Paul Waring finished solo-third at 8-under after carding a final-round 70.

Top 10

1 Edoardo Molinari -9
2 Paul Dunne -9
3 Paul Waring -8
T4 Victor Dubuisson -6
T4 Lasse Jensen -6
T6 Daniel Brooks -5
T6 Chris Hanson -5
T8 Ashley Chesters -4
T8 Trevor Fisher Jr -4
T8 Renato Paratore -4
T8 Carlos Pigem -4
T8 Jordan Smith -4

Clutch Performances

A look at Molinari’s final two shots on the 18th to finish with a clutch eagle.

A look at Molinari’s two putts in overtime that helped him secure his first tournament in over six years.


“To be able to win this week deletes a lot of bad memories and hopefully I can keep going down this road… It just shows that you should never give up, you should always keep trying, keep working hard.”
–Edoardo Molinari, Trophée Hassan II Winner

The Dagger Trophy


Name: Trophée Hassan II
Dates: 4/13 – 4/16
Course: Royal Golf Dar Es Salam
Locale: Rabat, Morocco
Purse: €2,500,000

The Leaderboard

Trophée Hassan II, Final Round, April 16, 2017
1Edoardo Molinari-9-5
2Paul Dunne (a)-9-1
3Paul Waring-8-3
T4Victor Dubuisson-6-3
T4Lasse Jensen-6-1
T6Daniel Brooks-5-3
T6Chris Hanson-5-2
T8Ashley Chesters (a)-4-4
T8Jordan Smith-4-3
T8Carlos Pigem-4-1
T8Trevor Fisher Jr-4E
T8Renato Paratore-42
T13James Morrison-3-5
T13Jens Fahrbring-3-6
T13Haydn Porteous-3-5
T13Joost Luiten-3-2
T13Matthieu Pavon-3-1
T13Pablo Larrazabal-32
T19Benjamin Hebert-2-4
T19David Drysdale-2-2
T19Joel Stalter-2-2
T19Sebastian Heisele-2-1
T19Jorge Campillo-2E
T19Ricardo Gouveia-2E
T19Gregory Havret-22
T19Dylan Frittelli-22
T27Max Orrin-1-4
T27Romain Wattel-1-3
T27Pelle Edberg-1-1
T27Rikard Karlberg-1-1
T27Chris Paisley-1-1
T27Duncan Stewart-1E
T27Lucas Bjerregaard-13
T34Wade OrmsbyE-3
T34Richard BlandE-3
T34Laurie CanterE-2
T34Gary StalE-1
T34Alexander LevyE-1
T34Mikko IlonenE-1
T34Jaco Van ZylE-1
T34Jeff WintherEE
T34Aaron RaiEE
T34Anthony WallE2
T34Michael Lorenzo-VeraE3
T34Gregory BourdyE4
T46Sebastien Gros1-3
T46Joakim Lagergren1-1
T48Alejandro Canizares2-2
T48Mark Foster2E
T48Adrien Saddier2E
T48Sebastian Soderberg2E
T48Anton Karlsson22
T48Matteo Manassero23
T48Dean Burmester23
T48Ricardo Gonzalez25
T56Johan Edfors3-2
T56Julien Guerrier3-1
T56Steven Tiley33
T56Adrian Otaegui34
T60(a) Ayoub Lguirati4-1
T60Daniel Im42
T60Lee Slattery44
T60Matthew Nixon44
T60Tom Lewis45
65Matthew Southgate62
T66Jens Dantorp92
T66Damien Perrier94
T66Marcus Armitage96
69Richard S Johnson107
70Rafael Echenique125
71Ben Evans147
-Niclas FasthCUT-
-Thomas LinardCUT-
-Clement SordetCUT-
-Thomas DetryCUT-
-Michael HoeyCUT-
-Mikko KorhonenCUT-
-Garrick PorteousCUT-
-Eddie PepperellCUT-
-Robert RockCUT-
-David HowellCUT-
-Florian FritschCUT-
-Brandon StoneCUT-
-Nacho ElviraCUT-
-Robert DinwiddieCUT-
-Nino BertasioCUT-
-Julien QuesneCUT-
-Andrew MarshallCUT-
-Callum ShinkwinCUT-
-Johan CarlssonCUT-
-Erik ComptonCUT-
-Jeunghun WangCUT-
-Richard SterneCUT-
-Marcel SiemCUT-
-Eduardo De La RivaCUT-
-Richie RamsayCUT-
-Raphael JacquelinCUT-
-Scott JamiesonCUT-
-Richard GreenCUT-
-Younes El HassaniCUT-
-Romain Langasque (a)CUT-
-David HorseyCUT-
-Alexander BjorkCUT-
-Faycal SerghiniCUT-
-Pontus WidegrenCUT-
-Jamie RutherfordCUT-
-Jamie DonaldsonCUT-
-Stuart ManleyCUT-
-Nathan KimseyCUT-
-Thomas BjornCUT-
-Bernd RitthammerCUT-
-Nathan HolmanCUT-
-Stephen GallacherCUT-
-Alexander KnappeCUT-
-Oliver FisherCUT-
-Reinier SaxtonCUT-
-Ahmed MarjanCUT-
-Zander LombardCUT-
-Robert KarlssonCUT-
-Richard McEvoyCUT-
-Justin WaltersCUT-
-Simon DysonCUT-
-Jose Filipe LimaCUT-
-James HeathCUT-
-Pep AnglesCUT-
-Ayoub Id-Omar (a)CUT-
-Nicolas ColsaertsCUT-
-Yassine Touhami (a)CUT-
-Gary KingCUT-
-Paul MaddyCUT-
-Sam WalkerCUT-
-Scott HenryCUT-
-Hennie OttoCUT-
-Craig HintonCUT-
-Y.E. YangCUT-
-Jaco AhlersCUT-
-Maximilian KiefferCUT-
-Felipe AguilarCUT-
-Richard FinchCUT-
-Dylan BoshartCUT-
-Abdelhaq SabiCUT-
-Mike WeirCUT-
-Santiago LunaCUT-
-John ParryWD-


This post was produced by a Pro Golf Weekly staff member.


Get Pro Golf Weekly delivered to your inbox.

Add comment

Like Us On Facebook


Archived Content

Up Next On Tour

EVENT Travelers Championship
DATES 6/22 - 6/25
COURSE TPC River Highlands
LOCALE Cromwell, CT
PURSE $6,800,000
WIN SHARE $1,224,000
DEFENDING Russell Knox